Current Conference

About the Conference

The 8th International Congress on Environmental Modelling and Software will meet in Toulouse, France, on July 10-14, 2016. The theme for the conference is “Supporting Sustainable Futures.”

This conference promotes contacts among modelling and software researchers and scientists from different countries, governmental and non-governmental organizations, and academic institutions. It also provides an opportunity to exchange technical information and promote cooperation between the sciences.

With valuable opportunities and experiences in store, we know that this 8th International Congress will be a great success!


Toulouse is the capital of the largest region of France, the Midi-Pyrénées. The Midi-Pyrénées region is bordered by Spain and rests at the foot of the Pyrenees Mountains, nested between the Mediterranean and the Atlantic. The region enjoys great southern France sunny weather all year long.

Toulouse Bridge

A must stop when in the region, Toulouse provides an intoxicating experience for visitors who quickly fall for the colourful charms of the aptly named“Ville Rose” (Pink City) and its Latin personality. Nicknamed the “little Barcelona”, this active and modern city is home to 120,000 students, close to one fourth of the population. Toulouse is known for its innate love of celebration.

Another fundamental aspect of the Toulouse way of life is its cuisine and wines/spirits. Lovers of good food take great pleasure in savouring local produce and the city’s culinary specialities: Toulouse sausage, violet-flavoured sweets, wines, the famous ‘cassoulet’, and the Fénétra cake.

In this city where a feeling of human warmth is always felt, visitors can enjoy a relaxed stroll or bike ride through the narrow, historic streets to explore the treasures of Toulouse’s architectural heritage. Passed down through 2000 years of art and history, the Capitole always leaves visitors in awe when they enter its richly painted ceremonial rooms.

Toulouse Capitole

In the Capitole Square, where this monumental symbol of Toulouse along with the famous Occitan Cross resides, tourists can enjoy being photographed while standing on their astrological sign. Nearby, the pilgrims on the Way of St. James kneel in the St Sernin Basilica, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site and nicknamed the “Carol Flower.”

Toulouse was the favourite city of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, the author of The Little Prince and a pioneer of the airmail adventure. (Today, you can sleep in his room, #32, at the Hotel Le Grand Balcon.) Visitors can visit the Airbus A380 assembly lines and board the Concorde!

At the Cité de l’Espace theme park, visitors can plunge into the heart of the universe, with over 250 exhibition items and interactive activities, including the Ariane 5 launcher, the Mir space station, the Soyuz spacecraft, a thrilling IMAX 3D film, an original planetarium show, and the discovery of Mars in 2012!

In the evening, visitors can enjoy the colored lights that illuminate Toulouse’s monuments and the banks of the Garonne River, offering a romantic walk amid a series of veritable urban frescoes.


Sessions and Workshops

Please download the PDF here to see the sessions for iEMSs 2016.

To see the workshops for iEMSs 2016 download the PDF here.

Organizational Committees


Sabine Sauvage (CNRS, France)

José-Miguel Sanchez Perez (CNRS, France)

Scientific Comittee:

Alexey Voinov (ITC, Netherlands)

Andrea-Emilio Rizzoli (IDSIA-USI/SUPSI, Switzerland)

Ann van Griensven (UNESCO, Belgium)

Anthony J Jakeman, (Australian National University, Australia)

Ari Jolma (Finland)

Dan Ames (Brigham Young University, USA)

Dominique Laffly (France)

Eric Martin (France)

Gary Polhill (Surrey University, UK)

Gene Whelan (EPA, USA)

Georgii Alexandrov (Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)

Giorgio Guariso (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)

Ioannis Athanasiadis (The Netherlands)

James C. Ascough (USA)

Joaquim Comas (University of Girona, Spain)

José Miguel Sanchez Perez (CNRS, France)

Karina Gibert (Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain)

Kristina Voigt (Germany)

Marcello Donatelli (CRA, Italy)

Marina Erechtchoukova (Canada)

Mark Borsuk (Darthmouth University, USA)

Martin Volk (UFZ-Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research Leipzig, Germany)

Miquel Sànchez-Marrè (Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain)

Mohammad Ebrahim Banihabib (Iran)

Nigel W.T. Quinn (USA)

Olivier Barreteau (France)

Olivier Therond (France)

Peter A. Khaiter (Canada)

Jiri Hrebicek (Masaryk University, Czech Republic)

Rajbir Parmar (USA)

Ralf Denzer (University of the Saarland, Germany)

Rüdiger Schaldach (Germany)

Sabine Sauvage (France)

Schimak Gerald (AIT, Austria)

Sophie RICCI (France)

Stefan Reis (Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, UK)

Tatiana Filatova (ITC Twente, Netherlands)

Local Organizing Committee:

Co-chair: Sabine Sauvage

Co-chair: José Miguel Sanchez Perez Organizer: Karina Gibert

Website: Daniel P. Ames, Michael Scott, Sarva Pulla

Technical Paper Peer Review: Andrea Rizzoli

Technical Paper Peer Review: Alexey Voinov

Student Awards Committee (papers and posters): Susan Cuddy, Jim Ascough, Stefan Reis

Poster Session: Stefan Reis, Youen Grusson

Student Volunteers: Sarva Pulla, Clement Fabre, Amine Zettam, Marie Lefranck, Sebastien Haunold, Youen Grusson

Co-convenors of Stream A: Ann van Griesven, Tatiana Filatova, Martin Volk

Co-convenors of Stream B: James Ascough, Ioannis Athanasiadis, Georgii Alexandrov

Co-convenors of Stream C: Miquel Sànchez-Marrè, Karina Gibert, Marina Erechtchoukova

Co-convenors of Stream D: Alexey Voinov, Suzanne Pierce, Olivier Barreteau

EPA Sponsorship: Gene Whelan, Rajbir Parmar

Administration: Estelle Henry, Chloe Palomba

Foreign Student Volunteers:

Andrea Kaim, Myriam Grillot, David Rivas, Gunseli Erdem, Francesca Recanati, Argyrios Samourkasidis, Emma Cutler, Benjamin Kayatz, Thibault Hallouin, Pau Gimeno, Mohammed Ebrahim Azari, Xavier Corrales, Jae-Young Lee, Han Su, Anastasia Lobanova.